Chambers Ireland Awards Celebrating Tenth Anniversary

Chambers Ireland has today announced the shortlist for the 2013 Excellence in Local Government Awards.

The Awards are held in association with the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government and sponsored by EirGrid, The Gathering Ireland 2013 and Tipperary Crystal.  Madeleine Quirke, CEO of Wexford Chamber said “ to see Wexford shortlisted in three categories is indicative of the excellent work the Local Authorities are involved in around the County.  To be recognized nationally in this way is a great credit to all who have been involved with Sustaining the Arts, with the new Library and with the fantastic sports development at the Rocks, Wexford.”

Announcing the shortlist, Ian Talbot, Chief Executive, Chambers Ireland said, “10 years on, the aim of these awards is as important as ever – to highlight best practice, stimulate ideas and offer encouragement to everyone employed in Local Authorities. Despite the changes that Local Authorities have undergone in recent years, the standard of entries continues to rise and impress the judging panel. These awards allow us to recognise the excellent work that is being done by Local Authorities around the country on a daily basis and I would like to congratulate everyone who applied and, in particular, those on the shortlist.”

Commenting on the shortlisted nominees, Mr. Phil Hogan, T.D., Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government said, “Local Authorities play a vital role in supporting the local economy and the local community. The innovative and diverse nature in which they go about this is evident from the impressive standard of entries on the shortlist. I am delighted that my Department is once again supporting these awards which provide us with an opportunity to pay tribute to the excellent work done by Local Authorities.”

The Awards will take place on Wednesday 13th November in the Burlington Hotel Dublin. There will be a total of 17 awards presented across a variety of categories including: Supporting Active Communities; Festival of the Year; Sports Development and Local Authority Economic Efficiencies. Awards will also be presented to the City/County Council of the Year and the Town/Borough Council of the Year. 

– Ends –