Chambers Ireland Excellence in Local Government Awards: Fingal County Council named Local Authority of the Year 2019

Fingal County Council was named Local Authority of the Year at the Chambers Ireland Excellence in Local Government Awards which took place yesterday evening (28 November 2019). The 16th annual Awards ceremony was held in association with the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government and showcases and celebrates the best of Local Government in Ireland.

Ian Talbot, Chief Executive, Chambers Ireland said,

“Local Authorities continue to make substantial efforts across multiple areas of Irish society with wide-ranging positive impacts for local communities and the local economy; the Excellence in Local Government Awards serve as the platform to highlight the irreplaceable value that results.

As ever, it’s an honour for Chambers Ireland to host these Awards as well as a pleasure to highlight, while gaining insight into, the work and initiatives being produced at local level nationwide.

Congratulations to Local Authority of the Year, Fingal County Council, the 16 category winners, the shortlisted organisations and to the people behind all of these excellent projects.

Fingal County Council is the well-deserved winner of the overall Local Authority of the Year Award, who have shown engagement across the different facets of the Fingal Community, and with the development and sustainability of Fingal’s localities and environment, to achieve this accolade.

For their commitment to serving their community and also raising their area’s profile nationally as a stand-out destination, Fingal County Council deserve to be commended and have earned their Award title of Local Authority of the Year.”

Minister of State for Local Government and Electoral Reform, John Paul Phelan T.D. commented about the Awards,

“My Department is delighted to support the annual Chambers Ireland Excellence in Local Government Awards. The Awards offer an opportunity to acknowledge those in local authorities, elected members and officials, who – through their commitment, creativity and skill – continue to meet the dynamic and diverse needs of our changing communities.

Now in its 16th year the Awards are going from strength to strength. I congratulate everyone involved in the participating Local Authorities who have worked so hard to deliver the nominated projects for the benefit of their communities.”

There were sixteen awards presented on the night plus the overall award for Local Authority of the Year. Individual awards were sponsored by: European Recycling Platform (ERP), TEKenable, Healthy Ireland, LGiU Ireland, Fáilte Ireland and EirGrid.

Specially commissioned crystal awards designed by Waterford Crystal were presented to the winners on the night.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Supporting Active Communities Award

Cork County Council – Blackwater and Creativity in County Cork

Best Practice in Citizen Engagement Award

Fingal County Council – Our Balbriggan – Imagine the Possibilities – Get Involved. 

Health & Wellbeing Award

Cork City Council – Cork Sanctuary Runners

Supporting Tourism Award


Kerry County Council – From Berlin to Kerry

South Dublin County Council – The Round Tower, Visitor Centre, Clondalkin – Brú Chrónáin

Promoting Economic Development Award

Cork County Council – Bridge to Masschallenge Cork Programme

Local Authority Innovation Award

Cork City Council – Arus Mhuire Rightsizing Housing Project

Sustainable Environment Award

Clare County Council – Banner Beekeepers Association Apiary at Doora, Ennis

Best Library Service Award

Limerick City & County Council – Watch House Cross Community Library Autism Friendly Resource

Sustaining the Arts Award

Wexford County Council – Arts Ability Programme

Disability Services Provision Award

Tipperary County Council – Sign of The Times

Festival of the Year Award

Fingal County Council – Dublin Bay Prawn Festival

Outstanding Initiative through the Municipal Districts Award

Donegal County Council – Hosting the DDF Irish Open in Inishowen MD – a place mobilised

Enhancing the Urban Environment Award

Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council – Otranto Seaside Gardens

Heritage and Built Environment Award

Monaghan County Council – The Monaghan Spitfire – Life on the Border with a World at War

Commemorations and Centenaries Award

Tipperary County Council – Solohead Parish Centenary Soloheadbeg 1919

Age Friendly Initiative Award

Mayo County Council – Age Friendly Airport Guidelines

Local Authority of the Year

Fingal County Council


For further information contact Gabriel Doran, Chambers Ireland on 01 400 4331, 086 6081605 or email